Gear Review – Grisport Quatro Boots

When my last pair of boots became worn out, I decided to look for a cheaper alternative , but still maintaining a reasonable quality.

I comprised a small list of things I wanted to see in a boot. Basically, 3 things:

  • Vibram Soles – they’re hard wearing and tend to provide good grip. The top brands use Vibram for a reason
  • Leather Upper – Leather has it’s own natural waterproofing, and is easy to maintain.
  • Waterproof liner – Originally, I wanted a gore-tex liner, but that increased the price considerably, so any waterproof, breathable liner would be acceptable.

After quite a lot of hunting, I eventually came across Grisport. I’d never heard of them as a brand before, and doing some searching online, it seems there was very little in terms of reviews on their products available, too.

So, my purchase of the Quatro boots (which I bought from Head to the Hills), was a bit of a gamble. I couldn’t find any local stockists to try them on, though I did find a store which sold the Dartmoor shoes, so I could at least gauge the correct size, and get a look at the build quality. They seemed to be of a reasonable build, so I took the risk and bought the Quatro boots.

On to the boots themselves!

Appearance:

As you can see, the boots have had a fair bit of use. I’ve owned them now for a couple of months, and I’ve climbed Corbetts in them, and gone for several longer distance walks in them. After all, it wouldn’t be much of a review if I’d only used them around town!

As you’ll see from the picture above, it doesn’t take long for the leather to take a bit of a beating, but I don’t personally mind that. I quite like a boot to look like it’s been used a few times!

What is important is that the boots have still maintained their waterproofing. I’ve had to cross various burns and streams in them, and so far, they’ve not let any water in – A plus for both the leather upper and the Spotex lining!

Comfort:

You’ll note from the picture above that the boots have, what they claim is a Support System at the heel. From their website, it advises: The new support system prevents lateral movement of the heel even on the roughest terrains. It seems to work, too. Prior to purchasing these boots, the shoes I was wearing had given me an acute case of Achilles Tendonitis – so heel pain was a major concern of mine when getting these! I’ve actually had no heel pain in them at all, and the heel seems to be held quite firmly in place.

The boots have been comfortable from the outset, which I was relatively surprised about. I can wear them all day with no problems, so hopefully, come April when I walk the West Highland Way, these boots will keep my feet nice and comfortable throughout.

Soles/Grip:

It was all sounding a little too good for a pair of boots that only cost £72, wasn’t it?

Sadly, here’s the downside of the boot. The sole. Don’t get me wrong, the tread pattern is quite good, and there’s a fair amount of grip on most terrain – however, the lug depth is terrible!

I’ve measured the depth of the lugs, and at about 4mm, the lugs simply aren’t deep enough for my liking. In wet, muddy, conditions, you’ll probably be slipping and sliding all over the place. Also, with such a shallow lug depth, I don’t hold out too much hope for the longevity of the sole. I suspect, with regular use, they’ll probably last a year at best before they’re worn out and provide no grip at all.

It’s a real shame, bedcause otherwise, the boots are really quite good!

Overall verdict: 3/5

They’re not a bad boot, and for an infrequent user, they’ll probably be ideal. They’re waterproof, easily maintained and comfortable from the outset, but the lug depth really lets them down. Had the soles been better, I would happily have increased that to a 4 out of 5.

In saying that, though. I reckon they’re going to be good enough to get me through the West Highland Way in April… how much longer after that, I don’t know, but I’m sure they’ve got enough staying power to survive a week of constant use.

24/02/11 – Update:

I thought these boots were going to be quite good and comfortable, but recently they have let me down. For some reason, I now get heel rub on my right foot and a rubbing of my ankle on the left foot. As you can imagine, that makes the boots more than a little uncomfortable and painful, so I would definitely be loathe to recommend these to anyone.

I am now wearing Mammut/Raichle Mt Trail GTX boots, which were significantly higher price, but have so far been more comfortable. I will post a complete review of these once I have had sufficient use of them over a long period of time.

12 thoughts on “Gear Review – Grisport Quatro Boots”

  1. Cure of tendon injuries is essentially practical. Using non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medications coupled with Physical Therapy, rest, orthotics or braces, and moderate return to workout is a common therapy. An acronym used to list the remedial treatments in fixing tendinitis is “RICE”: Rest, Ice, Compress, and Elevate. Resting assists in the prevention of further injury to the tendon. Ice is effective at soothing pain, restricting too much swelling, and stimulating blood circulation after the fact. Compression and elevation both perform similarly to ice in their ability to restrict excessive, unnecessary inflammation.Initial recovery is commonly within 2 to 3 days and full recuperation is within 4 to 6 week.Visit my site to learn more about achilles tendonitis treatment http://tendlite.com/achilles-tendonitis-treatment

    1. The advice here is pretty good, although if a particular piece of footwear is the cause of the problem, the best option is to get rid of that footwear.
      I now wear Sorbothane heel pads in my boots, which has certainly helped, at the very least!

    2. I’ll point out that I don’t endorse the site that Bobbi links to. I have no experience of it, so I am unable to comment on it.

    1. Boots can be a very subjective thing. What works for me may not work for you, and vice versa.
      Give them a try… they might just work for you.

      1. Very true all kits the same I suppose horses for courses I’m only a littlun at 5’7 and 9 stone so i should get some use out of them. i hope I don’t get the dreaded ankle rub though it always happens at the most inopportune times lol

  2. Quien no haya probado la calidad de estas botas no puede opinar. sencillamente son muy confortables, por no decir maravillosas. Se ajustan perfectamente al pie, es como si hubiera nacido con ellas. Las seguiré comprando hasta que deje de existir. Felicitaciones a los genios que las crearon.

    1. For those of us who use the English language, here’s a translation from Google of Gildardo’s comment:

      Anyone who has not tested the quality of these boots can not comment. simply are very comfortable, if not wonderful. They fit perfectly to the foot, as if he had been born with them. The keep buying until you cease to exist. Kudos to the geniuses who created them.

      I suspect a fair bit will have been lost in translation, but you get the idea.

      In response, clearly, as I owned the boots, I had tested the quality of them. I’ve never said they were particularly bad boots… More that they didn’t work for me. Everyone is different, and what works for one person, may not work for another, as I’ve mentioned before, on this very topic.
      The one thing that was most notably ‘bad’ about the boot was the depth of the tread. With such a small lug depth, the longevity of the boots will definitely be affected, as will the ability to grip in surfaces like mud. Admittedly, the boggy mud is probably more of a British concern than a Spanish or Mexican one, based on our climate, so again, it may not be nearly as much of an issue for potential buyers in dry climates.

      At no point am I telling people not to buy these boots. I am simply giving my thoughts and experiences with them. Let’s face it, if they work for you, they’re going to be a great, cheap, boot, with a reasonable spec!

  3. I can endorse the comments above and thoroughly recommend Sorbothane insoles in them – I can then walk all day straight out of the box! I am on my 3rd pair, with soles worn out as the main reason for change (as suggested above), but stitching is going by then too. Available in the UK at lower prices if you search around, so I still think they are great even with their defects and will stick with them.

  4. Very useful review. After many years fathful service my Brasher boots have finally worn out I had them nearly 20 years and have had them re-soled aseveral times.They have seen me across several continents and quite a few hills. So I am looking around for a new pair of boots. From my ‘research’ I have come to the conclusion you cannot beat quality, and it will cost. I had been considering GRISport because of price, but am thinking again.

  5. I bought a pair while in Jindabyne, in the Snowy Mountains.
    I needed some boots to double as work/hiking boots as we were clearing a track up a hill and walking Mt Kosciusko during that week.
    The few days of clearing went by without incident. I didn’t slip once on the grassy slopes so I like their grip level and they felt comfortable.

    The 13km Kosciusko walk was very pleasant as well.
    Only on the day after the walk did I notice some right heel rubbing.
    Not a full blister but heading that way.
    I initially put it down to not wearing thick socks, so the jury is still
    out until I do a good walk with thicker socks.

Leave a Reply

