Gear Review – Berghaus Freeflow Pro 40 Rucksack

I’ve had a Berghaus Freeflow Pro 40 Mens Rucksack for a few months now, and I have to admit, I love it to bits!

Photos of my (very) full rucksack shown below

Over the winter months, It’s been the only rucksack I’ve used for walking – whether this was the daily commute to work, or when actually doing some proper hiking in the hills. I can safely say it’s one of the most comfortable rucksacks I’ve ever worn.

The rucksack incorporates Berghaus’ Freeflow Pro back system, which is designed to give a much greater level of air circulation, preventing your back feeling sweaty. For me, it works a treat. The only area where it is let down slightly on this front is the pad at the lower back, where it meets the hip belt. It’s not a big loss, though, as this pad makes the pack incredibly comfortable.

I’ve heard lots of reports in the past about the Freeflow back systems causing problems with people trying to get things into their pack – the curve of the back prevents some things getting in. Having had no previous experience of Freeflow back systems, I can’t really compare the Freeflow Pro with any of its predeccesors. I can, however, confirm that I have absolutely no problem with filling the pack. Apparently, the Freeflow Pro system is closer to the back than the older Freeflow models, so maybe Berghaus have gone and fixed a problem. I’m not sure.

As for carrying capacity, well, I’m certainly not going to complain. You’ll note from the photos above that the pack is clearly fully packed. In fact, it’s packed for a weekend away, wild camping by myself. Below is a photo of everything that was in (or on, in the case of the roll mat and first aid kit) the pack.

In (or on) the pack we had:

  • Vango Banshee 300 tent
  • Highlander Camper Airmat (I’m looking to replace this in the future, suggestions welcome)
  • Snugpak Travelpak Extreme Sleeping Bag
  • Trangia 27-1 Stove
  • Light My Fire Meal Kit
  • Silva map case (with map and compass inside)
  • Wayfayrers boil in the bag meal
  • 2 x Scott’s So Easy Porridge Oats
  • 2 x Blackfriars Flapjack
  • Bridgedale Coolmax Liner Socks
  • Bench Boxer Shorts
  • Berghaus Deluge Overtrousers
  • Keela Stashaway Jacket
  • First Aid Kit
  • 2 x 750ml H2Onya Water Bottles (not shown – fit into wand pockets)

I’d like to think that reasonably highlights the carrying capacity of the rucksack. It’s more or less ideal for a weekend trip in the summer, but anything more than that, or anything requiring a larger sleeping bag (the Snugpak has to be compressed to fit the lower pocket as it is) will be a bit beyond the capabilities of the pack.

One thing that is worth mentioning is that with all of the above gear, the pack still feels light, it still feels comfortable and you barely notice any of the weight. 

As I mentioned at the start of the review – I love this pack! It really is up there with the best packs I’ve ever owned!

One thought on “Gear Review – Berghaus Freeflow Pro 40 Rucksack”

Leave a Reply

