Gear Review: Multimat Adventure Air Mattress

I was getting a bit fed up of the hefty weight of my old Highland Camper Airmat, and decided it was time for an upgrade. I wanted something smaller, lighter and more comfortable.

That’s normally quite a big ask, but since it’s been so long (probably about 10 years), technology has advanced so much that there were several options available to me.

In the end, I chose the Multimat Adventure Air Mattress, as it ticks all of the above boxes.

In terms of size, it packs down very small. When packed, its 25cm by 11cm, which is pretty tiny, it has to be said!

In terms of weight, it’s advertised as 450g. In practice, it weighs in at 507g, which ain’t too bad at all (particularly if you consider the old Highlander one was over 800g!), that’s including the bag and the small puncture repair kit

For comfort, well, it’s almost like sleeping on a real mattress, with a couple of small exceptions. It is quite thin when fully inflated, but in fairness, most air mats of this type are. It does mean that if you’re a restless sleeper, there’s a chance you’re going to fall of the mattress.

I’m quite a big guy, and I’ve managed to stay on so far, so it’s not too bad.

The real downside of the mattress is that fact that you have to inflate it manually (let’s face it, though – I knew that when I bought it!). It’s actually not that big a problem, it’s just a bit of a pain when you’ve spent the whole day hiking, are knackered and want to go to sleep!

In truth, it takes less than 5 minutes to inflate, so I’m just being picky, really.

Deflating it is also easy. There are two valves you can open to assist in deflating it. I find that its easier to get the air out if you open both valves while you’re still lying on the mattress. Just roll around a little to push the air out.

The bag for the mat is much larger than it needs to be, so it’s very easy to fit in the bag.

It also comes with a small puncture repair kit, which thankfully I’ve not yet had to use (I’ve only had the mat out on two occasions so far, though)

The one claim the mat makes, which I am dubious about, is the claim of being good to -15. It certainly didn’t get cold on my back on either of my recent outings, but it’s currently the middle of summer. I’ll definitely report back on any issues I may experience later on in the year.

All in all, this mat is highly recommended! I’ve noticed a marked improvement in my sleep when out on the hills since I’ve had it. For such a small package, that easily packs away into a rucksack, and reasonably small weight, it’s more or less ideal.

6 thoughts on “Gear Review: Multimat Adventure Air Mattress”

  1. Hi llendorin, the misses an I are doing the coast to coast this summer and the last time I needed a lightweight camping solution was almost a decade ago when roll-mats were the only thing available (thermarests were well out of a scout’s budget!). Do you think this will be suitable for the lakes and yorkshire in July/August? It’s a lot lighter and cheaper than a self-inflating mat, and I think they may be overkill for that time of year.

    Cheers!

    1. You should have no problem using one in July/August in the Lakes!

      We used ours in June on the Rob Roy Way, August on the West Highland Way last year, and this year, we used them in mid march on the Mini Cateran Trail, when the temperature was down to about 3 degrees overnight. Summertime really shouldn’t be a problem, and they’re definitely more comfortable than your average self-inflating one!

Leave a Reply

