Haglöfs Tuff Pants – First Look

The blog hasn’t seen much love in the past few weeks, as I’ve not been out very much. A few weeks ago, I pulled a thigh muscle when I made the mistake of getting on my bike for the first time in a couple of years. Instead of taking it easy, I decided to go full pelt. That was just not going to end well!
I’m feeling a bit better now, though, so should be back out and about in the next couple of weeks.

In the meantime, I figured I’d talk about some of the new gear I’ve received recently, but haven’t really had chance to test out much. First up, we have the Tuff Pant, from Haglöfs.

I’ve decided that I’m going to start getting out and about during the winter months a bit more, rather than sit at home putting on weight. (Which is normally the case!) As a result, I needed to get some suitable winter trousers. Luckily, right about the time I was thinking this, Sport Pursuit had a sale of Haglöfs clothing, and the Tuff Pant were reduced from a massive £175 down to an only slightly eye watering £85! Sure, they were less than half price, but at the same time, they were the most expensive trousers I’ve ever bought!

They arrived a few weeks ago, and I have to say, I’m quite impressed with them! (Which is good, considering how much they were) I ordered a long leg, and for the first time in my life, I can say that they’re actually a bit long! Normally, when I order a long leg trouser, it’s a generic 33″ inside leg, which is a wee bit short for me. The Tuff Pants feel like they could be as much as a 36″ leg. I even considered returning them for a regular leg, but I think a wee bit extra material is better than a bit less.

image

They’re not too loose, but not too tight, either… they’re just about right, in terms of fit. They’re made from Haglöfs own FlexAble Pro fabric, which is basically a tough softshell, with membrane, similar to Gore’s Windstopper fabric. They’re windproof, water resistant and incredibly abrasion resistant. They’re also incredibly warm, which will hopefully make then ideal for winter!

image

They’ve also got Kevlar based reinforcement to the inner legs, to prevent damage from crampons and the like, as shown below

image

There’s 4 pockets, 2 mesh lined pockets at the front, one at the back, which can provide a bit of ventilation and a thigh pocket (not mesh lined). The thigh pocket is less than useless, but the other pockets are about the right size for storing valuables. Being zip closure helps, too.

I’ve not had them out on the hills yet, but I should be able to get out and about in them in the next few weeks. Besides, they’re a bit warm to be wearing still, at least at low level.

Leave a Reply

