Multisport Gear

I’m starting to get fit again.

At least I think so. I saw a photo of myself from a few years ago today, while I was raking through some old files online, and I think it’s fair to say I was a wee bit chunkier then than I am now.

Strangely enough, I didn’t really consider myself as unfit back then… Though in hindsight, I definitely was!

I’ve now started trying multiple avenues of fitness, and it’s working. All aspects of my health have improved over the past few months.

Just over a week ago, I got a new bike (shown below, on it’s first outing), and I have to admit I’m loving it! That doesn’t mean I plan on stopping running, hiking or backpacking, though. I want to try and get a reasonable mix of all of them.

image

Which brings me to the topic of this post… If I want to keep doing all of the things I like doing, without breaking the bank, I realistically need to adapt my existing gear for multiple uses, or get gear designed for multiple uses.

In terms of existing gear to adapt, that’s pretty easy… My Haglöfs Mid Flex pants are currently my go to trousers for both hiking and cycling. Having the harder wearing and stretchy panels at the rear and knees means that they should survive the constant use on the bike, and the articulation makes cycling pretty easy… But I can still use them as hiking trousers, too. Bonus!

Similarly, any microfleece is going to be suitable for any of the above tasks. They’re light enough and unrestrictive enough that they can be used for running, hiking or cycling at will… They’re a no brainer. Simple as that.

Now, in terms of multisport gear, I have to admit, I was worried that I’d have the problem of “jack of all trades, master of none” and this type of gear wouldn’t really be suitable. I was wrong, it seems.

When I started running home from work at night, I realised there was a couple of bits that I needed. I also knew that I’d be getting a bike a month or two later, so I sought out some multisport gear, and so far, they work a treat!

I’ve got a Berghaus Vapour Storm jacket. OK, it was originally designed as a running jacket, but after reading the review on Bike Radar, I figured it would be worth a punt. Besides, for the first month or so, it was a running jacket.

The other item was a pack that I could use for all of my planned activities. I’m a fan of using a hydration bladder, particularly when running and cycling, so a hydration pack was an obvious choice… I needed something that would carry a change of clothes for work, bike lock, etc or all the gear I’d need for a day hike. I went for the Osprey Manta 20. It fit the bill perfectly, and the compression straps do an excellent job of stopping gear moving around when I’m running. Again, as a multisport item, it far exceeded my expectations. Up until recently, it’s been my go to pack for day hikes and running trips. As we’re now into the colder months, and I need to take more gear on the hills, I’ve switched to my Kestrel 28 for the hills. The Manta is still the choice for the running and cycling, though!

There will always be items that are specific to a particular sport (running shoes, cycling shorts, cycling gloves, etc), but the majority of gear can be adapted for multiple uses.

I guess I’m suggesting that multisport gear shouldn’t be overlooked. You’d be surprised how well they perform on multiple disciplines, and let’s face it… 1 pack is better than 3!

Leave a Reply

